Rapid Response button
Left it too late?
Need something organised now?
Email us for a response within
the hour - Just hit the
rapid response button
on any page

Burford

The distinctive main street in Burford is long and steep. There is a jumbled juxtaposition of houses and shops. Grey gabled buildings with lichen encrusted roofs, hotels, shops, tea rooms and inns. Crooked roof lines, leaning walls, no two buildings the same. A line of lime trees and a grass verge separate the houses from the road for half its length. At the memorial cross, the Tolsey, a market house from Tudor times, is now a museum.

Explore too the back lanes and alleys off the main street. The ancient Priory to the west, is now a closed nunnery. It holds memories of Nell Gwyn and King Charles II - their resulting son was created Earl of Burford. The church is to the east, and has a splendid spire. It was used as a prison during the Civil War, and has graffiti scratched by the Royalist prisoners still to be seen inside it. As the main street runs down to the river, there is a row of fine Almshouses and the school founded in 1577. The town then ends at the narrow stone bridge, that can only carry one way traffic